Gluten Free Diet

Strict adherence to a gluten free diet is absolutely necessary for patients with celiac disease and other gluten-related disorders. In the past, people didn’t have too many options for eating gluten free but that has changed. Today, there are several great products on the market which have made gluten-free diet easier and more satisfying. Even restaurants offer tasty gluten free options.

Gluten-free diet can be challenging in the beginning. It might take some time to discover which gluten-free products one likes. This can be an adventure as one gets to try new things in the diet.

It is important to read the list of ingredients on all packaged foods. Anything that is made from wheat, rye, barley or triticale would contain gluten and are NOT safe to consume. Many foods are naturally gluten-free are safe. These include rice, corn, fresh fruits and vegetables, all types of meats, eggs and dairy products. Things become problematic when foods are processed and gluten may get added as an ingredient. The key is to check every label, every time!

Pure oats that are grown under strict conditions to avoid cross-contamination with gluten-containing grains, are safe for most patients with celiac disease.

A consultation with a dietitian skilled in gluten-free diet is important to learn about the details of this diet. The Canadian Celiac Association – Nova Scotia Chapter offers information and resources to help with the gluten-free diet.

For further information on the gluten free diet, please visit the website of the Canadian Celiac Association and click Gluten Free Diet.

Site By Bezanson IT Solutions